Just cause…

I just have to put this out there in light of couple responses I have gotten on my blog…

I am not here to argue just to get it off of my chest “JUST CAUSE.”

Just because millions of people eat a lot of processed foods and fast food and are still relatively healthy doesn’t mean it’s a good idea to do it.

Just because a lot of people let their babies cry it out and the babies are ‘just fine’ doesn’t mean it’s a good idea.

Just because millions of people smoke cigarettes and NEVER get cancer or die from complications related to smoking doesn’t mean it’s a good idea.

Just because people have been drinking sodas and diet sodas for long periods of time and are ‘just fine’ doesn’t make it the best idea.

Just because many people vaccinate their children by the thousands every year and they don’t all have adverse reactions doesn’t mean there isn’t a risk associated with doing so.

ALL OF THESE INSTANCES HAVE SCIENTIFIC EVIDENCE SUPPORTING THAT THERE IS A RISK INVOLVED WITH THEM!!!

JUST BECAUSE BABIES ‘THRIVE’ ON ARTIFICIAL BABY MILK/FORMULA DOES NOT, I REPEAT DOES NOT MEAN THAT THERE IS NO RISK ASSOCIATED WITH DOING SO!

Feed your child however you wish, by all means, it’s YOUR child. But DO NOT and I repeat DO NOT argue with me that JUST CAUSE YOUR CHILD TURNED OUT “JUST FINE” that it is a GOOD IDEA to do so because it JUST ISN’T.

And I am truly sorry for the mothers who truly cannot breastfeed. And I commend the adoptive mothers who attempt to lactate and the mothers with serious breastfeeding issues who give it all they have before giving up and I UNDERSTAND why people formula feed. I get it, I know, I understand. But all the reasons in the world that may or may not justify why you do what you do with regards to feeding your child does not change the fact that there are, INDEED risks associated with formula feeding that are not associated with breastfeeding.

Hell, you’ve heard the stories from your mothers and grandmothers about how they brought babies up with Condensed Milk and Karo Syrup – were they ‘just fine?’ SURE they were! But damn, come one, gimme a break!!!

About Mamamojo

My name is T. I am a homeschooling, home/water birthing, dreadlocked, special needs mama to four beautiful daughters. I'm married to my best friend. I am a natural childbirth and breastfeeding advocate. I have done some volunteer work as a peer counselor with WIC and as a doula with Birthwell Partners and plan to be a midwifery assistant one day. My blog was created to put some alternative information out there about breastfeeding, childbirth & other issues regarding motherhood and life in general. I hope that you enjoy reading here and visit me often. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just cause…

  1. mamakohl says:

    Standing up, hooting and hollering and applauding like mad from the AMEN corner!

    As a doula, certified breastfeeding educator, childbirth educator, and an unschooling, non-vaccinating, baby wearing, attachment parenting, co-sleeping, and long term breastfeeding mama, I couldn’t have said it better myself.

  2. blackberrie says:

    Condensed Milk, Karo Syrup and Type II Diabetes when they hit 50, lol!

  3. Hmhm says:

    Just because you equate formula feeding with smoking, doesn’t make them comparable.

    There’s nothing wrong with promoting breastfeeding, however I think there’s considerable harm in polarizing the debate.

    I commend you for having the courage of your convictions. I do, respectfully and sometimes not so respectfully, disagree with the way you choose to frame the argument. How does it help anyone to tell a woman that she has to breastfeed or she’s endangering her child?

  4. Tara says:

    In response to Hmhm:

    I never said that anyone HAS to breastfeed. And it is a SCIENTIFIC FACT that states that formula endangers a child’s life, not just MamaMojo’s silly ole opinion.

Leave a Reply

