NIP Challenge

Okay Mamas…Here’s my challenge to you!

For all who are reluctant to NIP even though it’s your God given right and even if you don’t believe in God, it ain’t against the law so get hip with it. You are paving the road for our daughters to NIP as well! I challenge you to make a list of 5 places you are hesitant/reluctant/afraid to nurse in public.

Next, I want you to go there and DO IT!! And post to us all about how friggin’ liberating it was! Be sure to send this link to your mama friends!

https://mamamojo.wordpress.com/2007/08/26/nip-challenge/

Dr. Seuss for Nursing Moms

Would you nurse her in the park?
Would you nurse him in the dark?
Would you nurse him with a Boppy?
And when your boobs are feeling floppy?

I would nurse him in the park,
I would nurse her in the dark.
I’d nurse with or without a Boppy.
Floppy boobs will never stop me.

Can you nurse with your seat belt on?
Can you nurse from dusk till dawn?
Though she may pinch me, bite me, pull,
I will nurse her `till she’s full!

Can you nurse and make some soup?
Can you nurse and feed the group?
It makes her healthy strong and smart,
Mommy’s milk is the best start!

Would you nurse him at the game?
Would you nurse her in the rain?
In front of those who dare complain?
I would nurse him at the game.
I would nurse her in the rain.

As for those who protest lactation,
I have the perfect explanation.
Mommy’s milk is tailor made
It’s the perfect food, you need no aid.

Some may scoff and some may wriggle,
Avert their eyes or even giggle.
To those who can be cruel and rude,
Remind them breast’s the perfect food!

I would never scoff or giggle,
Roll my eyes or even wiggle!
I would not be so crass or crude,
I KNOW that this milk’s the perfect food!

We make the amount we need
The perfect temp for every feed.
There’s no compare to milk from breast-
The perfect food, above the rest.

Those sweet nursing smiles are oh so sweet,
Mommy’s milk is such a treat.
Human milk just can’t be beat.

I will nurse, in any case,
On the street or in your face.
I will not let my baby cry,
I’ll meet her needs, I’ll always try.
It’s not about what’s good for you,
It’s best for babies, through and through.

I will nurse her in my home,
I will nurse her when I roam.
Leave me be lads and ma’am.
I will nurse her, Mom I am.
__________________

Tara…tandem nursin’, co-sleepin’, babywearin’, non-vaxin’, homebirthin’, cloth diaperin’, earth conscious, full-time student, wife to Kristopher &
Mama to my still nursin’ fire cracker Trinity Jade &
my home birthed water baby Journey MaeAnn

About Mamamojo

My name is T. I am a homeschooling, home/water birthing, dreadlocked, special needs mama to four beautiful daughters. I'm married to my best friend. I am a natural childbirth and breastfeeding advocate. I have done some volunteer work as a peer counselor with WIC and as a doula with Birthwell Partners and plan to be a midwifery assistant one day. My blog was created to put some alternative information out there about breastfeeding, childbirth & other issues regarding motherhood and life in general. I hope that you enjoy reading here and visit me often. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to NIP Challenge

  1. Renee says:

    LOL…..yes…..I am a NIP. I NIP anywhere and everywhere. I have NIP’d in a restaurant, in a park, in the Midwife’s ofc, at the court house, while working, typing, singin, worshipping, eating, while sleeping. At Disney, in Publix, in Wal-mart, on a plane, in a car (hanging over the seat….truckers and all).

    I am a PROUD NIP mama…..NIP’d all 4 of my creations and hope to NIP more.

  2. Just Me says:

    Sorry…I’ve nursed in public wherever necessary!! I can’t think of any places I’d be reluctant to nurse…

  3. Kim says:

    A couple of weeks ago, I NIP at a protest. I had my son in the sling, and he was hungry, so I didn’t think twice about it. It will definitely make a good story for when he is older though!

  4. Anna says:

    I NIP anywhere. Part of my job was nursing in the waiting rooms at the health departments in our health district. My daughter just turned 2, so I don’t take her to work with me so often. I’m not wanting to scare off anyone or make them think hey have to nurse their toddlers. I’m due again in November, so I’ll be bringing the new baby with me everywhere and of course nursing anywhere I need to.

  5. Amanda Nee says:

    There’s nowhere I wouldn’t NIP. I’ve NIP at resturaunts, in the car at the Dunkin Donuts drive thru, at the WBW Guiness Book record breaking event (and that one ended up in the paper, front page, so everyone who even saw the paper at the store saw me and a few others mid-nurse LOL), on a parade float- dressed as Mrs Claus- right next to Santa, at the park, the beach, anyone’s house I’ve been to, in parking lots, on the side of the road….

  6. Jill says:

    Love your Dr. Seuss poem!

    I have nursed most everywhere. We travel a lot, so I kind of have that nursing with baby still in carseat down pat, too!

    There is this one particular place though. We eat there most every time we go to the beach. I guess because it is a pub and grill, I get nervous. Well, no more. Yes, it was SO very liberating to sit right there at the table and nurse my daughter. She was happy, we were happy, the other patrons were happy. Everybody was happy!

  7. Steph in bama says:

    Can’t wait to take the challenge when I have my newbie, though I think I will nurse anywhere. Who knows, but I did with DD.
    My favorite NIP experience that made me feel like a rebel was in Rich’s department store, first on the display beds then we moved to the more comfortable sofas for sale. It’s a quiet section of the store and I sure got looks from employees and passer bys but baby was hungry and the sofas looked so comfy. I just smiled and went about my business

  8. Great poem! We NIP everywhere, nothing really exciting as of yet, in loads of pubs (of course, I live in Ireland!), on the Luas (light rail), on the train, at a protest, at a bus stop, in shopping malls, at the beach… DD is happier when she’s fed, so the choice for me is easy, NIP or have everyone stare as she screams the place down 😉

    Love the image of Mrs Claus NIPing!

  9. Danielle says:

    That was awesome! I NIP everywhere I go! Do you mind if I put this on my blog and link back to you? This is definitely something to share!

  10. Tonia says:

    I also have nowhere i wouldn’t feel comfy nursing. Heck, I nurse right in the midst of a 500 member church congregation while standing and singing full volume with no cover so it really doesn’t phase me. Awesome challenge though!

  11. Rocheal says:

    With Kellen being only a month old, I sure have nursed in interesting places already!! (In the car in various parking lots, in my dad’s car in various parking lots, Bess’s Country Buffet, Long Horn Steak House, in the mall inside a private nursing room, in the mall inside of Sear’s portrait studios before we got his pictures done, so he’d be in a good mood (and someone walked in and almost had a heart attack! It was halarious!), outside on my front porch and all around my house, my aunt’s house, and my other aunt’s house, while I’m eating, while I’m typing, while I’m doing school work, ANYWHERE!
    The greatest part of NIP is when people “walk in on you” they get WAY more embarassed than you’d ever be!!

    I am Mama, hear me Roar!! :oD

  12. Melissa says:

    Love the NIP challenge but I already nurse wherever I am 🙂 If I were to list the strangest places I’ve nursed though I’d say 1. at a graveyard (my grandma’s funeral) 2. walking around at a Scottish festival while attempting to not drop any haggis on the baby nursing in the sling. 3. Just some of our tandem nursings with my 2 year old, because it can look funny sometimes when my 2 year old and 6 month old are both nursing!

  13. Alexa says:

    Whenever Jayden is hungry, Jayden eats. I will not deprive my son because some people are ignorant. I will always NIP!

  14. Shannon says:

    Thanks for this post! I’ve been NIPing for 7 months now (the first month I was too scared!) and I still find that I get really negative looks sometimes and I find it very discouraging. This post has been quite the opposite, so thanks! So far I’ve NIPed in church, at Charlie’s Steakhouse, friend’s homes, the beach (that was interesting!) in cars, the mall, BabiesRus, Target dressing room, and pretty much anywhere my DD gets hungry.

  15. Brooke says:

    I love the Dr. Seuss for Nursing mama’s! I am proud to still NIP my 22month old! There really isn’t anywhere that we haven’t nursed! I have nursed hanging over the carseat while hubby was driving on a roadtrip! I will nurse my dd whenever and wherever she needs to nurse!! Yay for mommy milk!!!

  16. Lil says:

    there are no places I’m reluctant to nurse my son in. 🙂 Anywhere!

  17. Nichole Chere says:

    There is no where I would not NIP. I proudly nurse my 17 month old anywhere that strikes our fancy! Or anywhere that he’s hungry rather. The only time I cover him with a blanket is when we’re around my brother because it weirds him out to see any part of his sister’s boobie. We also NAK (nusing at keyboard)I swear that’s what the boppy was invented for!

  18. Crystal says:

    My favorite NIP place was work. I’m a tax preparer, and my son was born just before Christmas. He was 3 1/2 weeks old when I was back at work for the season, and he went with me in his sling. I probably worked with 800 clients and he was there all the time. When he needed to eat, he did. I’ve NIP’d at churches, in amusement parks, regular parks, concerts and shows (my son went to 3 shows at the local PAC before he was 3 months old!), I’ve NIP’d at a formal dinner dance for the chorus my husband sings in, touring various places, in cars and airplanes, malls, stores, wherever.

  19. Al_Pal says:

    Awesome Suess tribute! ;D

  20. Ciera says:

    Wow, I LOVED this! Do you think my mom could maybe use this? She’s a lactation consultant, and I’m sure she’d find a use for it. 🙂

    If it’s okay, feel free to give me all your information so you can get credit, and I’ll let her see it!

    Thanks so much,

    C.

  21. Fonda says:

    Ok, well, before even reading this I had a challenge. Normally I NIP everywhere without worry, although since I’ve been back to work (teaching) I seem to be a bit more hesitant (not sure why).
    Anyways, I was coaching the girls soccer team at our final home game of the year last week and my mom picked up my daughter from day-home and brought her to the game.
    After our hello hugs, my 15 mo old asked for “milk please”. I knew this would happen and was worried about feeding her on the sidelines while coaching the team, but told myself to get over it and that I would be such a good role model for the girls on the team.
    So I nursed on the field, and parents came to talk to me (impressed) and the students on my team didn’t even seem to notice… coming up and talking to me and my daughter while she was nursing…
    Yay for NIP!

Leave a Reply

