2 week update

 

Adjusting to life with two girls has been so much easier than I originally thought it would be! I think in part it’s because I have already done all this before so the ‘not knowing’ factor and the insecurity about my ability to provide and care for this tiny, helpless sweet being is not in anyway an issue. Journey weighed 9lbs 2oz on Friday and is doing very well. I suspect a dairy allergy (not surprising considering Trinity and my niece and nephew both have/have had dairy sensitivities). I was shocked to see that she rolls over already!! In fact when she was a week old she did it for the first time on a hard floor. She does it on the couch a lot, but it gives a little so I thought nothing of it really, but when she did it on the floor I was like, “Whoa, slow down kiddo!”

Tandem nursing hasn’t been as difficult as I thought it was going to be either. Trinity is more than happy to share with her sister, wait her turn, and drink up the leftovers! It’s been a real blessing having her help with engorgement and helping me to ‘balance things out.’ She recently picked up some kind of virus that makes her eyes and nose all runny and she is coughing that croupy cough in the night. She hasn’t wanted to eat much of anything and I am so thankful that she is still nursing…a dehydrated, sick child in the hospital is the last thing I need right now, but once again – breastmilk to the rescue!

I have really enjoyed having my sister and her kiddos stay with me the past month. I am so glad that she was able to be here for the birth and to help me adjust these first two weeks. It just hit me like a sledge hammer to the forehead how much it is going to break my heart when she leaves tomorrow. It took she and I so many years to finally become friends and work through all of our issues (separate and together) and she is my best friend in the whole world. We don’t agree on everything, but we can always be honest with each other now, and it is a rare occasion that one of us gets our feelings hurt. And if we do get our feelings hurt then we just toss each other a pair of big girl panties, talk about it and work through it. It’s the most intimate and intricate relationship because we have known each other our whole lives, always been together and have a bond that just compares to nothing else. Not everyone is close to their siblings and I understand why. It’s hard work to have any kind of real relationship with anyone and even harder with family at times. But it’s so rewarding once you get to that ‘smooth sailing’ part. I’m just really gonna miss her is all. And my niece and my nephew are just so beautiful. I am crying just thinking about when I am going to get to tickle them again.

Okay okay, this is longer than I originally intended it to be, just had to put that all out there. I am a wreck right now. My girls are good and healthy and happy and Kris and I are well. I have everything in the world to be thankful for but I am willing to bet that people in Japan can hear the sound of my heart breaking when Christi pulls out my driveway tomorrow…

About Mamamojo

My name is T. I am a homeschooling, home/water birthing, dreadlocked, special needs mama to four beautiful daughters. I'm married to my best friend. I am a natural childbirth and breastfeeding advocate. I have done some volunteer work as a peer counselor with WIC and as a doula with Birthwell Partners and plan to be a midwifery assistant one day. My blog was created to put some alternative information out there about breastfeeding, childbirth & other issues regarding motherhood and life in general. I hope that you enjoy reading here and visit me often. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

